home
About our meetings
Membership
Calendar
Venues
library

National & International Organizations:

ATA-American Tapestry Alliance, www.americantapestryalliance.org
ASG-American Sewing Guild, www.asg.org
CW-Complex Weavers www.complex-weavers.org
HGA-Handweavers Guild of America, www.weavespindye.org
MAFA-Mid Atlantic Fiber Association www.mafafiber.org
NEWS-New England Weaver’s Seminars www.newenglandweaversseminar.com
OIDFA-The International Bobbin and Needle Lace Organization www.oidfa.com
IOLI – The International Old Lacers, Inc www.internationaloldlacers.org/
SDA-Surface Design Association www.surfacedesign.org
WSD-Association of Guilds of Weavers, Spinners, Dyers, United Kingdom www.wsd.org.uk
IFA- International Feltmaker’s Association www.feltmakers.com
Northeast Feltmaker's Guild www.northeastfeltmakersguild.org/

Regional Guilds:

Handweavers of Bucks County, PA contact:www.hwbc.us
Hudson Mohawk Weavers, Latham, NY www.hudsonmohawkweaversguild.com
Jockey Hollow Weavers www.jockeyhollowweavers.org
New York Guild of Handweavers, NYC www.nyhandweavers.org
North Country Spinners, Blairstown, NJ www.northcountryspinners.org
Northeast Feltmakers Guild www.northeastfeltmakersguild.org
Palisades Guild of Spinners & Handweavers, Saddle River, NJ www.mafafiber.org/palisades
South Jersey Guild of Spinners & Handweavers www.sjgsh.org
Textile Study Group of New York, NYC www.tsgny.org
Westfield Weavers, Westfield, NJ www.westfieldweavers.org

Publications:

Complex Weaver’s Journal www.complex-weavers.org
Fiber Art Now fiberartnow.net/
Handwoven www.interweave.com/weave/handwoven_magazine/
Notions Quarterly publication of the American Sewing Guild www.asg.org/html/magazine.html
Selvedge Magazine www.selvedge.org
Shuttle, Spindle, & Dyepot www.weavespindye.org/c/?loc=1-60-00
The Surface Design Journal www.surfacedesign.org/publications.asp
VävMagasinet www.vavmagasinet.se/
Weaver's Craft www.weaverscraft.com

Favorite Digital Tools to Bookmark on Your Browser:

Tim's Treadle reducer www.cs.earlham.edu/~timm/treadle/index.php
Fiber Burn Chart www.ditzyprints.com/dpburnchart.html
LibraryThing www.librarything.com
Laura Fry's site Tutorials and efficient weaving suggestions www.laurafry.com
Judie Eatough's site A computer/weaving software expert www.eatough.net/weave
www.handweaving.net  A copyright-free archive of more than 58,000 drafts + books
University of Arizona's "Digital Archive of Documents on Weaving and Other Topics" www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/index.html
Sett Chart: www.schachtspindle.com/support/yarns_chart.php
www.Flickr.com  Search “handweaving” to view lots of projects
Dyers List http://list.emich.edu/~dyers/
Archie Brennan/Susan Martin Maffei www.brennan-maffei.com
Fiber Link, a website linking you to a variety of fiber topics & resources www.fibergypsy.com
Blomqvist/Nordiska Textul-Garner AB www.clb.se
Band weaving www.gewebte-baender.de/galerie.html
Interweave Press Master Yarn Chart/sett guide http://www.weavingtoday.com/media/p/70.aspx
Weaving Calculator http://weavolution.com/weaving-calculator

Digital Communities:

Weavolution www.weavolution.com
-forums
_excellent online classes
-projects
-drafts
-yarns & looms
-resources (events calendar, international guild list,
teachers, + weaving, sett, reed, knitting needle and
crochet substitution calculators.)

Yahoo Groups chats/forums:
-All_Things_Structo
-Band_snoddar
-Rug Talk
-Scan Weave
-Tapestry2005
-WeaveTech
-Weaving  

Bloggers (a web-based journal, updated regularly)

-Alice Schlein, www.weaverly.typepad.com
-Bonnie Tarses, www.weavingspirit.blogspot.com
-Daryl Lancaster, www.weaversew.com/wordblog
-Jenny Dean, www.jennydean.co.uk/wordpress
-Kathe Todd-Hooker www.kathetoddhooker.blogspot.com
-Laura Fry, www.laurasloom.blogspot.com
-Sandra Rude, www.sandrarude.blogspot.com
-Tien Chiu, www.tienchiu.com/category/blog-posts
-Tommie Scanlon, www.tapestry13.blogspot.com
-Jerri Shankler's Angora Rabbit Spike, http://www.indigorabbittree.com/

Digital/Online Publications:

WeaveZine archives www.weavezine.com
WeaveCast archives (podcasts, like a radio-show broadcast over the Internet) www.weavezine.com/audio
Handwoven's Weaving Today www.weavingtoday.com/

Local & Regional Places to Study Weaving:

Learn to Weave with Sherrie Miller www.learntoweavewithsherrie.com
Newark Museum, Newark, NJ www.newarkmuseum.org/ArtsWorkshop.html 
Peter’s Valley Craft Center, Layton, NJ www.petersvalley.org
The Fashion Institute of Technology, NYC www.fitnyc.edu
The Mannings, East Berlin, PA www.the-mannings.com
The Spinnery, Frenchtown, NJ www.spinnery.net
The Yarn Tree, Brooklyn, NY www.theyarntree.com
Vävstuga, Shelburne Falls, MA www.vavstuga.com
WEBS, Northampton, MA  www.yarn.com

National Places to Study Weaving:

AVL, Chico, CA www.avlusa.com
Española Valley Fiber Arts Center, Española, NM www.evfac.org
Eugene Textile Center www.eugenetextilecenter.com
Fiber Factory, Mesa AZ www.fiberfactory.com
Halcyon Yarn, Bath, ME www.halcyonyarn.com
Harrisville Designs, Harrisville, NH www.harrisville.com
Haystack Mountain School of Crafts, Deer Isle, ME www.haystack-mtn.org
Haywood Community College, Clyde, NC www.haywood.edu
John Campbell Folk School, Brasstown, NC www.folkschool.org
Penland School of Crafts, Penland, NC www.penland.org
Ruthies Weaving Studio, Portland, OR www.ruthiesweavingstudio.iwarp.com
Santa Fe School of Weaving, Santa Fe, NM www.sfschoolofweaving.com
Sievers School of Fiber Arts, Door County, WI www.sieversschool.com
Textile Center of Minnesota Minneapolis, MN www.textilecentermn.org
The Weavers School, Whidbey Island, WA www.weaversschool.com
Yarn Barn, Lawrence, KS www.yarnbarn-ks.com